Holiday Weekends

When you get to Thursday it either seems like it took forever or no time at all. When I got into work at 7:30am this morning I felt that the week has gone by so fast but.. now that I am sitting in my cubical it seems quite the opposite.

Waiting for a holiday weekend is something everyone looks forward to, stuffing your face, drinking excesivly or maybe just hanging out with the family. I almost dread holiday weekends (keyword almost). They fly by fast and when you’re an intern like me, shows you all the things you are missing out on in your summer. I am extreamly happy to have an internship opportuity but after work when I see the kids in shorts and tank tops I look in disgust at my business casual dress. Although it is only Thursday my Mother, like any good parent, has set to planning a “work free” weekend. This “work free” weekend consists of coffee, made at home in my French Press or sometimes the ocational trip to Starbucks. The local farmers market  and last but not least a trip to Sams Club. I applause her for trying to mix things up but all she needs to realize is that I will consider the weekend a success if we go out to eat. As it is the 4th of July I know that fireworks will be added in there somewhere but once you pass the age of 14 they no longer seem that exciting. There will also be time for depression to mope about having to go back to work on Tuesday.

It is only 8:50am so I must put thoughts of the weekend out of my head. I suppose I will fill it with the words of Jennifer Egan. Yes, yes I know, who is Jennifer Egan? Up until recently I didn’t know myself. She is the Author of A Visit From the Goon Squad. It is a NY Times Best Seller and my next summer read. It always hard to find the next book to read but thanks to my trusty Amazon Kindle and a trip to Target looking at book covers I have finally found one! I do know that I cannot read anymore “fluffy” books. Something Blue and Something Borrowed will be the last books I read by Emily Giffin. While they were entertaining they were perdictable. The Hunger Games will be my last series that I read in a while. Sometimes books are like movies, the first one may be good but the ones after that never meet the mark. Does anyone have any reccomendations? Or has anyone read A Visit from the Goon Squad? It is always fun to discuss books with other people, it gives you a new perspective.

As this is my first post and blog I must thank my friend Lindsay. Her blogging is my inspiration, you should check it out http://laptopginger.wordpress.com/2011/06/26/healthcare-for-laptops/

Leave a comment